12/11/15 – Programming returns

Hi there. Remember me? I’m still alive and trucking. I had a couple rough days and then stopped by the house for a day and a half to reset my hours. My heart just wasn’t into being a blogger, and nothing good would have come of it, so I took a little break. You can send the search parties home now.

Tonight I’m in Walton, Kentucky. I have a very hefty pumpkin that I carried from North Carolina across the mountains. Charlotte is tired. Lucky for her, we don’t deliver until 0900 in the morning, so she’ll get some good rest. Our delivery is only 10 miles from here, so there is plenty of time to recuperate.

We are all very happy to be out of the north east. For now. We’ll see how long our luck holds.

One of the things about the northeast is that the Flying J’s and Pilot truck stops are few and far between. For me, that means fewer showers and places to park. It is also very distressing for another member of my little entourage. Phil has been feeling very neglected, as I only drink coffee from those places. Today I got him two big fill-ups, so he is feeling a little better now.

Take a look at the picture below and tell me if you see anything odd. Take your time, I’ll wait …

northsouth

 

Well? Do you notice anything weird? According to the sign, if you stay straight, you will be going both north and south. Wouldn’t you technically be still at that point? Anyway, I thought it was funny.

I’ve said it before, but it bears repeating … while it’s a pain to carry a loaded trailer across, West Virginia is a gorgeous state! The scenery is phenomenal. I got a couple pics for your viewing pleasure, but if you ever get the chance, go see it for yourself. It’s wild and wonderful!

mountain1

mountain2mountain4mountain5

Still not as good as Virginia, but then again, I’m a bit biased.

Just like any job, trucking has its ups and downs. I had a few down days the past couple weeks, so hopefully we’ll be having lots of up days in the near future. I’m anxious to get back to the beautiful mid west areas I’ve come to enjoy so much. Of course, it is winter and there’s a storm a-brewin’ from what I hear, so be careful what you ask for, right?

Okay, that’s it for me. I needed a little break, but it’s great to be back with you all. Thanks for not giving up on me. We’ll see what magnificence tomorrow brings. I’ve got a few more pics so have a gander down below if you so choose.

Until next time then …

end3

end2

end1

 

Published by

Justin on the Road

A simple trucker traveling the country, delivering trailers full of stuff and marveling at the beauty of it all. Hop in and let's go for a ride!

2 thoughts on “12/11/15 – Programming returns”

  1. Hiya Justin, glad you are back! Hope all is well. Trucking can be a downer sometimes; trust me, we know.
    Keep on keeping on, and stay safe, hun! (Tell Charlotte NO MORE sliding antics, LoL!) Love reading your blog~!!!!!
    Hugs,
    Anne

    Like

    1. Thanks Anne! Glad you’re still reading. Been a tough few weeks, that’s for sure. These big companies ruin a perfectly wonderful job. And Charlotte really gave me a scare, but we pulled out of it. I wasn’t sure there for a minute. LOL

      Like

say something snazzy ...

