12/30/15 – Ground clouds

Good evening.

Anyone else think of the old tv show, “Alfred Hitchcock Presents” when you hear that, or am I the only one?

AlfredHitchcockPresenta

Anyone? Anyone? Beuller? Beuller? Is this thing on? Guess I’m talking to myself again.

I’m in Syracuse, New York tonight. I delivered my loaded pumpkin earlier this evening. There were no empty pumpkins available, so it’s just me and Charlotte.

Ooooh, an evening alone. How romantic. Maybe I’ll get a nice bottle of diesel fuel and we’ll have a party! Is this getting weird?

ANYWAY …

I saw the sun today. It lasted all of about 20 minutes, but it was there. Otherwise, it was foggy. Like, really foggy. Apparently, the sky was so full of clouds, there was no more room up in the sky, so they were hanging out down on the ground with us people folks.

foggy

Several times there were flashing signs on the sides of the road that warned of the dense fog. I couldn’t read them until I was right on them because of the … wait for it … dense fog.

While I spent Christmas sweating in the muggy, Virginia humidity, New York looks to have had a white Christmas.

white

It may not look like much, but this was after a couple days of melting. There were other areas where the snow was piled high in parking lots and I parked my loaded pumpkin in a snow covered parking spot at the receiver.

As the gloomy rainy day turned into a gloomy rainy night, I kept a close eye on the temperature. It had been steadily dropping all day. From Virginia to West Virginia to Maryland, Pennsylvania and finally New York, it went from the 50’s down to the mid-thirties by the time I delivered this evening. Add to that, it had started raining a couple hours earlier and I was being extra cautious as I meandered over to the truck stop without the benefit of any weight on Charlotte’s rear end.

Charlotte – “What did he say about my rear end?” hehehe

I’ve said it before about other states and it’s true of New York as well. If you’ve never been, you should check it out some time. Don’t let NY city cloud your judgment of the state. New York is absolutely gorgeous. Mountains, rivers, lakes and small towns that look like they should be on the cover of Time magazine, circa 1955.

Thoughts of the crowded cities, traffic jams and skyscrapers are lost as you float through the country side, passing farm after farm. There are ponds covered in a shimmer of ice that I’m sure are useful skating rinks once the temperature stays below freezing for a while. Cows graze in open fields and water flows down the rocky mountain sides, into streams and rivers that rush with the sudden addition of melting snow.

It’s also home to the Baseball Hall of Fame. Just had to put that in there.

I think back to my trip to London and Paris a few years ago and my thoughts of those cities. In London, I got to spend an hour or so chatting up the tour bus driver. We talked trucking and the differences in our countries. As he described where he lived, outside of the city, I thought it sounded pretty nice. He talked about having driven a truck before becoming a bus driver, and the countryside and scenery. The two cities were marvelous, but chatting with that gentleman was one of my personal highlights.

Get to the point already. Okay, Okay. My point is this … It was very easy see London and Paris and judge their respective countries on those two cities. I thought about people visiting the United States for the first time and only seeing New York city and what a shame it would be to judge our entire country on that. That’s not a knock on NYC, it’s just that there is so much more to see and do in this country.

So where ever you live, be it the city, suburbs or out in the country, the U.S. or some other far away land, just get out a little. There is so much to see in this big, beautiful world. It would be a shame to not see as much of it as you can.

I won’t be a truck driver forever, but when I’m done getting paid to explore, I still plan on traveling and seeing what’s out there. It’s good to have roots, a place to call home, but you have to leave every once in a while to see what the rest of the world is up to and where that road less traveled leads.

Okay, enough already. I’m going beddy-bye. Tomorrow holds the promise of a new adventure. I’ll tell you all about it when it’s over. Stay tuned, because it might just be the most exciting thing you’ve ever read. Most likely it will be about me driving somewhere, but hey, there’s always the chance Charlotte could turn into a magic carriage and whisk me away to the land of make believe. You wouldn’t want to miss that, would you?

If you’re still reading, thanks for sticking it out this long. You shall be rewarded with some grainy pictures of farms and water just below. So worth it, right?

Until next time then …

barn

fork river

barn2

 

 

l

 

Published by

Justin on the Road

A simple trucker traveling the country, delivering trailers full of stuff and marveling at the beauty of it all. Hop in and let's go for a ride!

say something snazzy ...

