1/2/16 – Milking it

Who knew the Rio Grande was in Ohio? I need to go back to geography class!

If you were in Nitro, West Virginia on a Saturday night, what would you do? I’m thinking real hard about some Arby’s and Netflix. You’re jealous, I know. Not everyone can lead my glamorous lifestyle.

So, how was your Saturday? I’m guessing some of you are enjoying a long weekend due to the New Year. Make it count, because Monday it’s time to get your butts back to work with the rest of us.

I’m still lollygagging my way to Charlotte, North Carolina. Lots of time on this load and I’m really milking it to save hours so I might not have to do a reset next week. There really is a method to my madness. I’d like to put it off until next Sunday if I could, but the freight will determine that as the week progresses.

Today I got up late, stared at the parking lot for a while and then got a shower. Of course, Phil was filled and we were on our way to pick up our loaded pumpkin.

Once we got it, we went and got scaled. The whole load is only 22,000 pounds and I can get almost 46,000 in a pumpkin legally, so there was no good reason to scale other than I just wanted to … it makes me feel better.

There does seem to be a trend going on with my short term memory. After I went over the scale, I parked Charlotte and went inside to get my ticket. I had to use the little boy’s room, then I got Phil another fill… I basically just made a trade.

I went to the cashier and paid for Phil’s fill and then went back to Charlotte. As I settled in the seat, it suddenly came to me. I forgot to get my scale ticket! DOH!

This is not the first, second or even third time I’ve done this. My brain seems to get distracted fairly easil… look, a squirrel!

See what I mean?

Anyway, I went back in and got the ticket and we were off again! Zooooom!

Have you ever seen one of these signs?

dip

Right after I passed this and went over the “dip,” I saw this sign…

bump

Sorry, it’s a little fuzzy. It reads, “BUMP.”

That’s right, there was a “BUMP” right after a “DIP.” Is a “DIP” an upside down “BUMP” or is it the other way around?

Here’s an idea. Why not just shave off the “BUMP” and fill in the “DIP.” Seems logical to me, but I guess the sign makers and installers wouldn’t have anything to do then. Is that what out government means when they say they are “creating jobs?”

Anyway, I got to go over the majestic Ohio river today, which is always cool. I love the big rivers in this country. I like the small rivers, too … I don’t discriminate.

ohio river

The sun showed up today! YAY!!! I was beginning to think it would never come back. My sunglasses were feeling neglected. It was a fight for the ages, but as you can see, the sun burned a hole right through those stubborn clouds.

sunny

Soon after, the clouds gave up the fight completely and it turned into a glorious day of trucking, although it was still cold. I did see 40 degrees once, though. Heat wave, right?

Well, that about wraps things up for today. I’ll have another short day tomorrow. I’ll spend the night at one of the company’s operating centers so I think I’ll do some laundry since it’s free. Ah, perks of the job.

Thanks for taking the time to check in on today’s adventure. We’ll do it all over again tomorrow. Remember, it’s about the journey, not the destination.

Until next time then …

Published by

Justin on the Road

A simple trucker traveling the country, delivering trailers full of stuff and marveling at the beauty of it all. Hop in and let's go for a ride!

2 thoughts on “1/2/16 – Milking it”

  1. Haya Justin!
    Been to Gallip many times, but never the coveted “OHIO RIO* … LoL!
    Hope this finds you happy and well; still following along!
    Kudos, and be safe, driver~!~!

    Like

say something snazzy ...

