1/16/16 – Chillin’ in Gary

Good morning! Today we find ourselves in Gary, Indiana where Charlotte gets some personal attention from the mechanics and I will take the opportunity to be off-duty for 34 hours and reset my weekly work hours.

Charlotte’s appointment was for 7 this morning. Imagine my surprise when someone knocked on the door at 5 and told me to pull in the shop. I was all groggy and stuff and was like, “oookay.”

Apparently, the 5 o’clock appointment didn’t show up, so they went to the next one on the list. Cool. I only lost an hour of sleep and hopefully Charlotte will get out soon enough to have more time to give her a nice cleaning inside before bed time.

I had a shower, some breakfast and got my clothes washed and it’s not even 1100 yet. Go me! I think I’ll take a nice long walk in a bit.

Yesterday was kind of dreary and overcast all day. Mostly the precipitation stayed away, with the exception of a rain downpour just south of Chicago. It was short lived, though, and by the time I got to my delivery, it was all over. Yaay!

Going through Ohio yesterday, I spent some time on some nice state highways, always a little more scenic and pleasant to drive than interstates. They might take a little longer, and you have to be careful of the small town speed traps, but over all, it’s nice and relaxing.

backroad

I came to an intersection and had to turn, but the explorer in me really wanted to know where the road across from me lead. I always like taking the road less traveled, but in Charlotte, it’s not usually advisable.

where

Come on now, admit it. You want to know where that road goes, right?

Before I got here at the company operating center last night, I stopped in a local Wal-mart and re-stocked supplies. Do you know what they don’t have at the Wally World in Gary, Indiana? I looked, and no Vernor’s.

The night before, I stayed at a truck stop in Hebron, Ohio. You know what they have in the drink cooler at the truck stop in Hebron, Ohio? Think hard ….

vernors

I almost did a happy dance right in the truck stop. I grabbed 4 of the plastic bottles. I grabbed another 4 in the morning. Too greedy?

Alright, that’s about it for today. I’m going to check on Charlotte and take that walk now. I hope you all have a great Saturday and I appreciate you keeping me company for a bit today. Not too many pictures yesterday, but I’ve got a couple more for you down below, so feel free to gawk.

Until next time then …

barnchoo-choo

Published by

Justin on the Road

A simple trucker traveling the country, delivering trailers full of stuff and marveling at the beauty of it all. Hop in and let's go for a ride!

2 thoughts on “1/16/16 – Chillin’ in Gary”

  1. The Jackson 5 (Michael & his brothers) were from Gary, Indiana. Do you see any of them? Not Michael of course…may he rest in peace.

    Like

say something snazzy ...

