1/17/16 – Frigid

Hello there. How’s everybody doing?

I started my day in Gary, Indiana, scooted on over to Davenport, Iowa to pick up a loaded pumpkin and headed on down the road. Tonight I sit in a Pilot in Bloomington, Indiana.

The day started off cold, as Charlotte told me it was 7 degrees this morning. It didn’t warm up at all. As a matter of fact, it got colder. Most of the day it was 0. As in no temperature. As in 32 degrees below freezing. Add to that, the wind was howling for most of the day.

I stayed nice and comfy inside Charlotte as she blew toasty, warm air around me. The wind really pushed us around on the way to pick up our loaded pumpkin, though. With an empty, there just wasn’t any weight to counteract the fact that I was pulling a 53′ long, 13’6″ high sail behind me.

How windy was it? I’m glad you asked. Allow me to give you an idea. I passed this factory on I-80 at some point. Usually the smoke blows straight up at these places. Not today …

windy

See what I mean … windy!

Once we got our loaded pumpkin, we became much more stable, as it has 44,000 pounds of dog food loaded in it. Not such a pushover now.

Did you catch the part where I said I was in Iowa? I don’t go there often, but when I do, I can’t help but think of this …

“Is this Heaven?”

“No. It’s Iowa.”

Bonus points if you know what that’s from … think baseball. “The only constant, Ray, is baseball.”

Iowa

When you go to Davenport Iowa, you have to cross the mighty Mississippi River. The Mississippi is a huge river, so have a look at the next picture to get an idea of just how cold it is and has been …

mississippi

That’s right, ladies and germs, the Mississippi river is frozen. The picture doesn’t really do it justice. It was quite a site to see and lot’s of spots were much more frozen than what that picture looks like. Cold, I tell you.

Overall, it was a very nice day. Despite the cold, the sky was clear, traffic was almost non-existent, and I was enjoying myself quite a bit.

I’m not sure why, perhaps being from the east coast it’s just so different, but I really enjoy all the wide open space out here. There is so much of it, with farm after farm, fields bare for the winter. And of course, if you’re in the mid-west, there must be windmills, right?

windmills

And of course, cows. This guy looked awful lonely in the middle of the field by himself. For all I know, he was thinking, “Hell yeah! I’ve got this whole field all to myself!”

lonely cow

Well, that about wraps it up for me today. Tomorrow we head back to the eastern time zone in Kentucky. I’d like to stay out here for a while, but alas, it’s not up to me. Tune in next time to see where our adventures take us.

As always, I thank you for checking in. I have the obligatory farm and sky pictures down below if you care to take a look-see. You didn’t think I’d let a day go by without at least one sky picture, now did you?

Until next time then …

big skyfarm1random building

 

Published by

Justin on the Road

A simple trucker traveling the country, delivering trailers full of stuff and marveling at the beauty of it all. Hop in and let's go for a ride!

One thought on “1/17/16 – Frigid”

  1. gonna miss your wit and wisdom man. sure hope you are off to bigger and better things. if you’ve emailed me, haven’t checked in a while but sure hope to hear what’s up.

    Like

say something snazzy ...

